Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
Forum Member
OP Offline
Forum Member
A
I am a grad student in a quantum computational research lab at University. Our research has led me into the realm of classical dynamics in order to support findings from gas-phase calculations. We are hoping to determine explicit solvent effects on conformational dynamics of a small, biologically active organic molecule consisting of a ring structure and a short hydrocarbon tail. I have built a hydrated DPPC membrane using the CHARMM-gui bilayer builder.

This is my crystal structure as found in step5_assembly.str:
SET BOXTYPE = RECT
SET XTLTYPE = TETRAGONAL
SET A = 34.6285541
SET B = 34.6285541
SET C = 69
SET ALPHA = 90.0
SET BETA = 90.0
SET GAMMA = 90.0
SET ZCEN = 0.0
SET NLIPTOP = 19
SET NLIPBOT = 18 <<< this leaf has my target organic molecule centered in the xy-plane (z-position not set at equilibrium distance from bilayer center)
SET NWATER = 924
SET ISGLIP = NO
SET ISMEMB = YES

I want to keep the conformation of my target molecule fixed until the equilibration steps are complete and it has diffused to an equilibrium position in the bi-layer. I am looking to apply an absolute constraint to the internal coordinates for my target molecule while allowing for whole-molecule translation/rotation.

So far I have tried the following approaches: (I have added portions of each step6.1_equilibration.inp file relating to the segment definitions and constraints.)

*** constrain conformationally significant dihedral angles with CONS DIHE and a large force constant.

define DIHA sele ( segid HETA .and. ( type C23 .or. type C19 .or. type C17 .or. type C15 ) ) end
define DIHB sele ( segid HETA .and. ( type C12 .or. type C9  .or. type C15 .or. type C17 ) ) end

cons dihe force 1000.0 sele DIHA end
cons dihe force 1000.0 sele DIHB end