#23873 04/02/10 11:30 PM
R
RD2015 Offline OP
Forum Member
OP Offline
Forum Member
R
Hi,

This is my first time attempting the protocol outlined on http://dogmans.umaryland.edu/~kenno/#CGenFF.

I am working on generating parameters for pyruvate. And I want to check to see if my approach is correct.

This is what I have done:
*Note: I wasn't able to follow everything in the tutorial and I grossly simplified many steps.

1. I created the rtf file by analogy.
2. I ran generate_tutorial.inp
3. I put the resultant gjf file into Gaussian 09.
4. I looked at the Hessian written in the internal coordinates and extracted the diagonal entries as my force constants.
5. I scaled the values into kcal/(mol Angstroms)
6. For the dihedral terms I divided by multiplicity squared, and I also used the minimized coordinates to get delta (by multiplying Xmin by multiplicity and subtracting 180 degrees).
7. I entered only the missing parameters into the rtf.
8. I then ran gaussian again with scrf=(pcm,solvent=water) to simulate the presence of water.
9. I used these Mulliken charges in my rtf.
10. I ran a minimization (without waters) and got a distorted structure.
11. I adjusted the charges so that the methyl group had .09 on each hydrogen and .21 on the carbon and reran the minimization (without waters).
12. There was less distortion but the structure is not perfect.

So at this point I have a few questions:
1. Will this approach work?
2. Can I just keep tweaking charges?
3. What should my goal be? Should I just try to match the minimized gaussian structure as closely as possible using the following criteria: "typically 0.03 for the bonds and 3 for the angles".

Thanks

Re: generating parameters for pyruvate
RD2015 #23888 04/05/10 06:53 PM
Forum Member
Forum Member
Originally Posted By: RD2015
I am working on generating parameters for pyruvate. And I want to check to see if my approach is correct.